Skip to the content

Collaborative Council

The work of JCMH requires the sustained collaboration of dedicated individuals who are committed to creating a legal system that better serves individuals with mental health challenges. The Collaborative Council is composed of interested stakeholders and advocates from across Texas to inform the JCMH on important matters when considering projects and policy. 

  • Devon Anderson
    President and Chief Executive Officer, Justice Forward
  • Trey Apffel
    Executive Director, State Bar of Texas
  • Mark Atkinson
    Chief Executive Officer, Texas Center for the Judiciary
  • Amy Befeld
    Legislative Consultant, Texas Association of Counties
  • Virginia A. Brown
    Assistant Professor, Community Engagement and Health Equity, Department of Population Health, Dell Medical School, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Sonja Burns
    Mental Health Advocate
  • Nelda Cacciotti
    Judicial Staff Counsel and Mental Health Magistrate, Tarrant County
  • Armondo E. Colombo
    President & CEO
    The Menninger Clinic
  • Leah Davies
    Project Manager, Strategic Health Alliance
  • Rex Davis
    Justice, 10thCourt of Appeals
  • Scott Ehlers
    Special Counsel, Texas Indigent Defense Commission 
  • Lesli R. Fitzpatrick
    Attorney, Law Office of Lesli R. Fitzpatrick 
  • Gilbert Gonzales
    Director, Bexar County Department of Behavioral and Mental Health
  • Krishnaveni Gundu
    Co-Founder & Executive Director, Texas Jail Project
  • Greg Hansch
    Executive Director, NAMI Texas 
  • Elizabeth Henneke
    Executive Director, Lone Star Justice Alliance
  • Colleen Horton
    Policy Program Officer, Hogg Foundation for Mental Health
  • Angelita Hunter
    Municipal Court Supervisor, City of McKinney Municipal Court
  • Trina K. Ita
    Associate Commissioner, Medical & Social Services Division, Behavioral Health Services, Texas Health and Human Services Commission
  • Lee Johnson
    Deputy Director, Texas Council of Community Centers, Inc. 
  • Windy Johnson
    Program Manager, Texas Conference of Urban Counties
  • Louise Joy
    Attorney, Joy & Young, L.L.P.
  • Evelyn Keyes (Ret.)
    Former Justice, First Court of Appeals
  • Chris Lopez
    Assistant General Counsel, State Hospital, Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
  • Mike Lozito
    Judicial Services Director, Bexar County Office of County Manager
  • Lela Mays
    Judge 283rdDistrict Court
  • Trish McAllister
    Executive Director, Access to Justice Commission
  • Joanna Mendez
    Community Wellness Counselor, Refugee Services of Texas
  • Kirk D. Noaker, Sr.
    Magistrate Judge, Burnet County Magistrate's Office
  • Rita Noel
    Justice of the Peace, Precinct 4, Grayson County 
  • John Petrila
    Senior Executive Vice President of Policy, Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute
  • Daphne Previti-Austin
    Former Judge, 289thJuvenile District Court, Law Office of Shawn C. Brown, P.C.
  • Officer Terry Qualls
    Crisis Intervention Coordinator, McKinney Police Department
  • Susan Palacios
    Psychotherapist, Texas Juvenile Department of Justice
  • Janis Reinken
    Former Chief Clerk, House Committee on Corrections
  • Michelle Romero
    Associate Director, Texas Medical Association
  • Deputy Joe Ross
    Grayson County Sheriff’s Office
  • Rachel Samsel
    Deputy Associate Commissioner for Strategic Initiatives & Policy - State Hospitals, Texas Health and Human Services Commission
  • Melissa Schank
    Executive Director, Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Jonas Schwartz
    Program Manager, Texas Workforce Commission
  • Brigid Sheridan
    Associate General Counsel, University Health System
  • Jennie Simpson
    Forensic Director, Texas Health and Human Services Commission
  • Matt Smith
    Assistant Executive Director/Director of Mental Health Services, Williamson County Juvenile Services
  • Scott Soland
    President, Texas CIT Association
  • Charles Stephens
    Comal County Court at Law #2
  • Jonathan Stevens, M.D., MPH
    Vice President of Growth & Innovation,
    Medical Director, Outpatient Services & Admissions
    The Menninger Clinic
  • Gloria Terry
    Chief Executive Officer, Texas Council on Family Violence
  • Haley Turner
    Associate Commissioner for Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Texas Health and Human Services
  • Ryan Kellus Turner
    Executive Director, Texas Municipal Court Education Center
  • Sally Uncapher
    Assistant District Attorney, Bexar County District Attorney's Office 
  • Julie Wayman
    Mental and Behavioral Health Manager, Interagency Liaison, Texas Education Agency
  • Nicole Weaver
    Child Protective Services Mental Health Specialist, Texas Department of Family Protective Services
  • Thea Whalen
    Executive Director, Texas Justice Courts Training Center
  • Deborah Wigington
    Comal County Court at Law #3
  • Dennis Wilson
    Retired Limestone County Sheriff and Past President, Sheriffs' Association of Texas
  • Steve Wohleb
    Senior Vice President/General Counsel, Texas Hospital Association

Membership as of September 2021.