Skip to the content

Bench Book Committee

The Texas Mental Health and Intellectual and Development Disabilities Law Bench Book is a procedural guide for Texas judges hearing cases regarding persons with mental illness and/or IDD, developed by the JCMH and numerous contributing authors and editors including the Bench Book Committee. 

  • Hon. Camile DuBose, Chair
    Medina County, 38th Judicial District
  • Hon. Bill Boyce
    Fourteenth Court of Appeals
  • Melinda Brents, J.D..
    University of Houston School of Law
  • Maureen Burrows, M.D., M.P.H.
    University of Texas, Dell Medical School
  • Hon. Nelda Cacciotti
    Tim Curry Criminal Justice Center
  • Alex Cogan, L.M.S.W.
    The Arc of Texas
  • Sherri Cogbill
    TDCJ Reentry and Integration Division
  • Kristi Compton, Ph.D.
    Clinical and Forensic Psychology 
  • Leah Davies, L.M.S.W.
    Strategic Health Alliance
  • Colleen Davis, J.D.
    Burnet County Attorney's Office
  • Hon. Rex Davis
    Tenth Court of Appeals
  • Alyse Ferguson
    Collin County Mental Health Managed Counsel
  • Courtney Harvey, Ph.D.
    Texas Health and Human Services
  • Hon. Guy Herman
    Travis County Probate Court
  • Hon. Nancy Hohengarten
    County Court at Law #5, Travis County
  • Collen Horton, M.P.A
    Hogg Foundation for Mental Health
  • Trina Ita, L.P.C.
    Texas Health and Human Services
  • Hon. David Jahn
    Denton County Criminal Court #1
  • Nelson Jarrin, J.D.
    Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute
  • Lee Johnson. M.P.A.
    Texas Council of Community Centers
  • Louise Joy, J.D.
    Joy & Young, LLP
  • Hon. Oscar Kazen
    Bexar County Probate Court #1
  • Adrienne Kennedy
    National Alliance on Mental Health
  • Beth Lawson, M.B.A.
    StarCare Specialty Health System
  • Hon. Pamela H. Liston
    Rowlett Municipal Court
  • Veronica S. Longoria, L.B.S.W.
    Texas Health and Human Services
  • Chris Lopez, J.D.
    Texas Health and Human Services
  • Hon. Stacey Mathews
    The Arc of Texas
  • Jennifer Martinez
    Strategic Health Alliance
  • Beth Mitchell, J.D.
    Disability Rights Texas
  • Michelle Moore, J.D.
    Burnet County Public Defender's Office
  • Hon. Roxanne Nelson
    Burnett County Precinct 1
  • Lee Pierson, J.D. 
    Dallas County District Attorney's Office
  • James Rasmussen, J.D.
    Witchita County Public Defender's Office
  • Hon. Charles P. Reynolds
    Office of Judicial Staff Counsel and Special Magistration, Tarrant County
  • Andrea Richardson, M.S.
    Bluebonnet Trails Community Services
  • Rachel Samsel, M.S.S.W.
    Texas Health and Human Services
  • Fredericka Sargent, J.D.
    TDCJ Reentry & Integration Division
  • Sian Schilhab, J.D.
    Texas Court of Criminal Appeals
  • Brian Shannon. J.D.
    Texas Tech University School of Law
  • Jennie Simpson, Ph.D.
    Texas Health and Human Services
  • David Slayton, M.P.A.
    Office of Court Administration
  • Hon. Polly Jackson Spencer (Ret.)
    Bexar County Probate Court
  • Felix Torres, M.D., M.B.A., D.F.A.P.A.
    Texas Health and Human Services
  • Haley Turner, M.S.W.
    Texas Health and Human Services
  • Hon. Ryan Turner
    Texas Municipal Courts Education Center
  • Will Turner
    Texas Commission on Jail Standards
  • Amanda Vasquez
    Office of the Attorney General
  • Steve Wohleb, J.D.
    Texas Hospital Association

As of October 2021