Skip to the content

Juvenile Bench Book Committee

The Texas Juvenile Mental Health and Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Law Bench Book is a procedural guide for Texas juvenile judges hearing cases regarding children with mental illness and/or IDD, developed by the JCMH and numerous contributing authors and editors including the Juvenile Bench Book Committee. 

  • Hon. Cynthia Wheless, Chair
    417th District Court
  • Hon. Sarah Bruchmiller                 
    Associate Judge, Williamson County
  • Natasha Castille                             
    City of Allen Municipal Court
  • Bill Cox, J.D.                                             
    El Paso County Public Defender’s Office
  • Hon. Dena Fisher                            
    315th District Court
  • Alyse Ferguson, J.D.                               
    Collin County Mental Health Managed Counsel
  • Hon. Pat Garza                                
    (former) Associate Judge, 386th District Court
  • Hon. Cyndi Porter Gore                
    City of Allen Municipal Court
  • Lynn Hadnot, M.S.                        
    Collin County Juvenile Services
  • Angelita Hunter                              
    City of McKinney Municipal Court
  • Jim LaRue                                         
    Health and Human Services Commission
  • Veronica Martinez                         
    Health and Human Services Commission
  • Jill Mata, J.D.                                            
    Bexar County Juvenile Probation Department
  • Hon. Stacey Mathews                   
    277th Judicial District Court
  • Beth Mitchell, J.D.                                   
    Disability Rights of Texas
  • Hon. Kimberly McCary                  
    Denton County Court at Law #1
  • Valerie Murrieta, M.S.W.                             
    Health and Human Services Commission
  • John Petrila, J.D., L.L.M.                                  
    Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute
  • Hon. Claire Petty                            
    City of McKinney Municipal Court
  • Lucrece Pierre-Carr, M.S.W.                        
    Health and Human Services Commission
  • Terry Qualls                                     
    McKinney Police Department
  • Hon. Mike Schneider                     
    Berg Plummer Johnson & Raval, LLP
  • Courtney Seals, M.P.Aff.                      
    Health and Human Services Commission
  • Riley Shaw, J.D.                            
    Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney’s Office
  • Dr. Jennie Simpson, Ph.D.                     
    Health and Human Services Commission
  • Kaci Singer, J.D.                              
    Texas Juvenile Justice Department
  • Hon. John Specia                            
    Plunkett, Griesenbeck and Mimari, Inc. (ret.)
  • Nydia Thomas, J.D.                                 
    Lone Star Justice Alliance
  • Haley Turner, M.S.W.                                   
    Health and Human Services Commission
  • Sean Walker, M.P.Aff.                                    
    Hogg Foundation for Mental Health


As of August 2020