Skip to main content

Data Committee

The Data Committee will collaborate with stakeholders to collect and analyze data, including data by race, with the goal to improve court interaction and function for individuals with mental health needs, substance use disorders, or IDD.  

The Data Committee, chaired by Dr. Connie Almeida, had its first meeting in September 2021 and will continue to meet every other month. 

Committee Members:

  • Dr. Connie Almeida, Chair
    Director, Fort Bend County Behavioral Health Services
  • Virginia Brown
    Assistant Professor, Dept. of Population Health, Dell Medical School, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Sonja Burns
    Mental Health Advocate
  • Hon. Nelda Cacciotti
    Assistant Criminal District Attorney – Mental Health, Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney’s Office
  • Hon. Brent Carr
    JCMH Jurist-in-Residence
    Judge, Tarrant County Criminal Court #9 (Ret.)
  • Angel Carroll
    Director of Community Engagement & Partnerships, MEASURE
  • David Evans
    Chief Executive Officer, Integral Care
  • Alyse Ferguson
    Of Counsel, Rosenthal Kalabus & Therrian
  • Krishnaveni Gundu
    Co-Founder & Executive Director, Texas Jail Project
  • Dr. Courtney Harvey
    Chief of Government Relations, Texas Council of Community Centers
  • Hon. Yolanda Huff
    Judge, Bexar County Court at Law #2
  • Lee Johnson
    Chief Executive Officer, Texas Council of Community Centers, Inc.
  • Hon. Pam Liston
    Senior Attorney, Messer Fort, PLLC
  • Dr. Octavio Martinez
    Executive Director, Hogg Foundation for Mental Health
  • Rosie Medina
    Chief Juvenile Probation Officer, El Paso County Juvenile Probation Department
  • Magdalena Morales-Aina
    Director, El Paso County Community Supervision and Corrections Dept.
  • Hon. Tamara Needles
    Judge, 427th District Court, Travis County
  • Dr. John Petrila
    Senior Executive Vice President of Policy, Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute
  • Melissa Shearer
    Director, Travis County Mental Health Public Defender’s Office
  • Dr. Jennie Simpson
    Forensic Director, HHSC
  • Hon. Charles Stephens
    Judge, Comal County Court at Law #2
  • Sally Uncapher
    Assistant District Attorney, Bexar County
  • Noah Wright
    Director of Analytics, Texas Juvenile Justice Department
  • Wayne Young
    Chief Executive Officer, The Harris Center for MH & IDD

Updated October 2023