Skip to main content

Long-Term Planning Committee

The Long-Term Planning Committee focuses on long-term goal setting and offering input on possible new Judicial Commission on Mental Health (JCMH) projects. It is chaired by Judge John Specia. In 2022, the Committee met to discuss JCMH goals and had many suggestions to steer the work of the commission moving forward. A new strategic plan is forthcoming. 

  • Hon. John J. Specia, Jr., Chair
    Fmr. Judge, JCMH Jurist-in-Residence
  • Hon. Devon Anderson
    President and CEO, Justice Forward
  • Hon. Bill Boyce
    Partner, Alexander Dubose Jefferson
    Justice, 14th Court of Appeals (Fmr.)
  • Hon. Nelda Cacciotti
    Assistant Criminal District Attorney – Mental Health, Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney’s Office
  • Hon. Cory Carlyle
    Justice, 5th Court of Appeals
  • Hon. Brent Carr
    Judge, Tarrant County Criminal Court No. 9
  • Kevin Garret
    Senior Policy Advisor, Office of the State Forensic Director, HHSC
  • Dr. Courtney Harvey
    Chief of Government Relations, Texas Council of Community Centers
  • Hon. Oscar Kazen
    Judge, Bexar County Probate Court No. 1
  • Adrienne Kennedy
    Former President, NAMI
  • Hon. Elizabeth Leonard
    Judge, 238th District Court, Midland County
  • Hon. Pam Liston
    Senior Attorney, Messer Fort, PLLC
  • Dr. Octavio Martinez, M.D.
    Executive Director, Hogg Foundation for Mental Health
  • Denise Oncken
    Bureau Chief, Harris County District Attorney’s Office, Mental Health Bureau
  • John Petrila
    President of Adult Policy, Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute
  • Janis Reinken
    Former Chief Clerk, House Committee on Corrections
  • Hon. Renee Rodriguez-Betancourt
    Judge, 449th District Court, Hidalgo County
  • Dr. Jennie Simpson
    Forensic Director, HHSC

Updated October 2023