Skip to main content

Summit Curriculum Committee

The Summit Curriculum Committee, chaired by Judge Brent Carr, advises on speakers and curriculum for the annual Summit. The Committee originally started its work in early 2018 and is composed of representatives from several judicial education agencies, including the Texas Association of Counties (TAC), and the Texas Municipal Courts Education Center (TMCEC), as well as representatives from the Texas Indigent Defense Commission (TIDC) and the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association (TCDLA). The Committee works to ensure that the presentation topics promote the JCMH mission and lead the way in this ever-changing legal field.

Committee Members:

  • Hon. Brent Carr, Chair
    Judge, Tarrant County, Criminal Court No. 9
  • Hon. Mark Allen
    Judge, Jasper County
  • Virginia Brown
    Assistant Professor, Dell Medical School
  • Sonja Burns
    Mental Health Advocate
  • Hon. Nelda Cacciotti
    Assistant Criminal District Attorney – Mental Health, Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney’s Office
  • Mary Cunningham
    Texas Association of Counties
  • Hon. Francisco Dominguez
    Judge, 205th District Court,  El Paso
  • Officer Shawn Edwards
    Belton Police Department
  • Scott Ehlers
    Special Counsel, Texas Indigent Defense Commission
  • Alyse Ferguson
    Of Counsel, Rosenthal Kalabus & Therrian
  • Jessica Foreman
    Education Manager, The Texas Justice Court Training Center
  • Gilbert Gonzales
    Director, Bexar County Dept. of Behavioral and Mental Health
  • Steven Halpert
    Chief, Juvenile Division, Harris Co. Public Defender's Office
  • Hon. Yolanda Huff
    Judge, Bexar County Court at Law #2
  • Lee Johnson
    Deputy Director, Texas Council of Community Centers
  • Hon. Oscar Kazen
    Judge, Bexar County Probate Court #1
  • Hon. M. Sue Kurita
    Judge, El Paso County Court at Law No. 6
  • Hon. Elizabeth Leonard
    Judge, 238th District Court, Midland County
  • Mike Lozito
    Director Judicial Services, Bexar County Pretrial Services
  • Hon. Stacey Mathews
    Judge, 277th District Court, Williamson County
  • Magdalena Morales-Aina
    Director, El Paso County Community Supervision and Corrections Dept.
  • Hon. Roxanne Nelson
    Judge, Burnet County Precinct 1
  • Denise Oncken
    Bureau Chief, Harris County District Attorney, Mental Health Bureau
  • Lucrece Pierre-Carr
    Texas Health and Human Services Commission
  • Lee Pierson
    Mental Health Division Chief, Dallas County District Attorney’s Office
  • Hon. Susan Redford
    Executive Director, Texas Association of Counties (Re. Judge, Ector Co.)
  • Janis Reinken
    Chief Clerk, House Committee on Corrections
  • Hon. Renee Rodriguez-Betancourt
    Judge, 449th District Court, Hidalgo County
  • Elizabeth Rozacky 
    Texas Municipal Courts Education Center
  • Melissa Schank
    Executive Director, Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Assoc.
  • Prof. Brian Shannon
    Texas Tech University School of Law
  • Dr. Jennie Simpson
    Forensic Director, Health and Human Services Commission
  • Judge John Specia
    (Ret.) Judge, JCMH Jurist in Residence
  • Hon. Charles Stephens
    Judge, Comal County Court at Law #2
  • Hon. Ryan Turner
    Executive Director, Texas Municipal Courts Education Center
  • Steve Wohleb
    Senior Vice President/General Counsel, Texas Hospital Association

As of October 2023